Skip to main content

Decision XIV/14: Non-compliance with data reporting requirements under Article 7 of the Montreal Protocol by Parties temporarily classified as operating under Article 5 of the Protocol

The Fourteenth Meeting of the Parties decided in Dec. XIV/14:

  1. To note that the following Parties, temporarily classified as operating under Article 5, have not reported any consumption or production data to the Secretariat: Cambodia, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Liberia, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, Palau, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Suriname and Vanuatu;
  2. To note that this situation places these Parties in non-compliance with their data reporting obligations under the Montreal Protocol;
  3. To acknowledge that many of these Parties have only recently ratified the Montreal Protocol but also to note that twelve of them have received assistance with data collection from the Multilateral Fund through the Implementing Agencies;
  4. To urge these Parties to work together with the United Nations Environment Programme under the Compliance Assistance Programme and with other Implementing Agencies of the Multilateral Fund to report data as quickly as possible to the Secretariat, and to request the Implementation Committee to review the situation of these Parties with respect to data reporting at its next meeting.