Skip to main content

Decision XIV/16: Non-compliance with data reporting requirement for the purpose of establishing baselines under Article 5 paragraphs 3 and 8 ter (d)

The Fourteenth Meeting of the Parties decided in Dec. XIV/16:

  1. To note that the following Parties have not reported data for one or more of the years which are required for the establishment of baselines for Annex A and E to the Protocol, as provided for by Article 5, paragraphs 3 and 8 ter (d):
    1. For Annex A: Angola, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Haiti, Liberia, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, Palau, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Suriname and Vanuatu;
    2. For Annex E: Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Micronesia (Federated States of), Haiti, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Liberia, Maldives, Nigeria, Palau, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Vanuatu;
  2. To note that this places these Parties in non-compliance with their data reporting obligations under the Montreal Protocol;
  3. To stress that compliance by these Parties with the Montreal Protocol cannot be determined without knowledge of this data;
  4. To note that 18 out of 20 of these Parties are receiving assistance with data collection from the Multilateral Fund through the Implementing Agencies;
  5. To urge these Parties to work closely with the Agencies concerned to report the required data to the Secretariat as a matter of urgency, and to request the Implementation Committee to review the situation of these Parties with respect to data reporting at its next meeting.