Skip to main content

Annex X: Declaration on methyl bromide

Declaration by Australia, Botswana, Canada, Iceland, Mauritius, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Venezuela

The above Parties present at the Seventh Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol,

Commend the international community for taking constructive steps in strengthening controls on methyl bromide,

Being aware that faster movement towards phasing out methyl bromide would reduce the human and environmental impacts of ozone depletion,

Being aware that some Parties are able to adopt alternatives at an earlier stage, and that several Parties have adopted domestic policies to largely phase out methyl bromide in the next few years,

Declare their firm determination, at the national level:

(a) To encourage the widespread adoption of alternatives;

(b) To take all appropriate measures to limit the consumption of methyl bromide to those applications that are strictly necessary, and to phase out the consumption of methyl bromide as soon as possible.


7 December 1995