Skip to main content

Declaration on methyl bromide (2003)

Annex VIII : Declaration on methyl bromide - Fifteenth Meeting of the Parties

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, the European Community, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and theUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,

Recognizing that technically and economically feasible alternatives exist for most uses of methyl bromide, and noting that Parties have made substantial progress in the adoption of effective alternatives;

Mindful that exemptions must comply fully with decision IX/6, and are intended to be limited, temporary derogations from the phase-out of methyl bromide;

Resolved that each Party’s methyl bromide use should decrease each year, targeting the closure of the critical‑use exemption as soon as possible in non-Article 5 Parties;

Taking account of the recommendation by the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel that critical-use exemptions should not be authorized in cases where feasible options are registered, available locally and used commercially by similarly situated enterprises;

Declare their firm determination at the national level:

To take all appropriate measures to limit the consumption of methyl bromide to those strictly necessary applications that are in keeping with the spirit of the Protocol and will not lead to an increase in consumption after phase-out.