Skip to main content

Declaration on limitations on the consumption of methyl bromide (2004)

Annex IV : Declaration on limitations on the consumption of methyl bromide - First Extraordinary Meeting of the Parties

by Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Saint Lucia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom and the European Community

The above Parties present at the first Extraordinary Meeting of the Parties.

Recognizing that technically and economically feasible alternatives exist for most uses of methyl bromide, and noting that Parties have made substantial progress in the adoption of effective alternatives,

Mindful that exemptions must comply fully with decision IX/6 and are intended to be limited, temporary derogations from the phase-out of methyl bromide,

Resolved that each Party’s methyl bromide use should decrease, targeting the closure of the critical-use exemption as soon as possible in non-Article 5 Parties,

Declare their firm intention at the national level to take all appropriate measures to strive for significantly and progressively decreasing production and consumption of methyl bromide for critical uses with the intention of completely phasing out methyl bromide whenever technically and economically feasible alternatives are available.

Montreal, 26 March 2004